In Memoriam: Katherine Rogers – with wise words from the Buddha

For anyone wondering (I guess that is a bit presumptuous on my part) if there is a reason behind my posting “hiatus” I feel that I owe you a bit of an explanation.

On April 14, 2013 one of my dearest friends, Katherine Rogers, lost her courageous fight to ovarian cancer. I was fortunate to be able to spend a little bit of time with her in those precious last days, and precious they were. Katherine was an amazing veterinarian, mother and friend, and she is missed.  I shared these words at her memorial service.

I thought I would close with a quote from Dhammapada 15.
I already mentioned that I don’t believe in coincidences.

Three weeks ago when I jumped on a plane to head back east to visit Katherine for the last time I grabbed a book from a pile that I had set aside to read. It was a memoir called “The Foremost Good Fortune”. I had picked it out because I am planning on attending a writers workshop and the author will be leading the workshop. (I thought I might as well do some of my homework in advance.) The memoir is the story of a young woman who has two small boys and gets very sick while she is living abroad in China… She opens the book with this quote.

Hunger: the foremost illness
Fabrications: the foremost pain.
For one knowing this truth
As it actually is,
Unbinding
Is the foremost ease.

Freedom from illness: the foremost good fortune.
Contentment: the foremost wealth.
Trust: the foremost kinship.
Unbinding: the foremost ease.

2 thoughts on “In Memoriam: Katherine Rogers – with wise words from the Buddha

Leave a Reply

